• 1

GM Anatoli Karpow

Russland
Российская Федерация

Russian Federation

Anatoli Karpow Anatoly Yevgenyevich Karpov was born in Zlatoust (Russia) on 23 May 1951. He learnt chess at the age of 4 from his father, a successful engineer who won many awards for his innovations. His extraordinary talent was evident from an early age; at the age of 9 he qualified for Category 1, a class attained only by very strong amateur players. When Karpov was 10 he entered the school of Leonid Gratvol, a famous trainer in the former Soviet Union. Gratvol was the director of the Pioneers’ Palace in Chelyabinsk, and a very strong chess player. Many of his pupils later became grandmasters. The collaboration with Gratvol lasted a little over three years and soon bore fruit, with Karpov earning the title of Candidate Master.

Nonetheless, it was some time before Karpov achieved his first noteworthy successes. He did subsequently participate in Soviet youth and junior championships, but though he always performed respectably, the winners’ podium eluded him. The breakthrough did not come until 1966, when Karpov defeated his first grandmaster and simultaneously earned the title of “Master”. A sensation, as this title had never been awarded to such a young player before. Immediately afterwards he won his first international tournament in Czechoslovakia.

Karpov went on to achieve his first major title in 1967, winning the European Junior Championship. His first really major victory came two years later, when he became the Junior World Champion in Stockholm.
In 1970 Karpov was awarded the title of chess Grandmaster; at the time he was the youngest player to hold this honour. Soon afterwards he won his first tournaments as an adult: in 1971 he shared victory with Leonid Stein at the Alekhine Memorial Tournament in Moscow, and in 1972 he performed extraordinarily well in the Soviet team at the Chess Olympiad in Skopje, gaining 13 points from 15 games.

Karpov’s ascent towards the world championship began in 1973, when he won the Leningrad interzonal tournament with Viktor Korchnoi, thus qualifying for the candidate playoffs, which were meant to determine who would challenge the reigning world champion, Bobby Fischer. Karpov first beat Lev Polugaevsky and former world champion Boris Spassky, then just managed to keep the upper hand in a dramatic final against Viktor Korchnoi, winning 12.5:11.5. As Fisher declined to play the world championship match against Karpov, Karpov was automatically declared the new world champion.

Kasparow gegen Karpow, Schach-Weltmeisterschaft 1985 In the period that followed, Karpov played in a large number of tournaments, winning most of them, and defended his world champion title twice (in 1978 and 1981), both times against Viktor Korchnoi. It was only in 1985 that Karpov had to relinquish his crown to the young Garry Kasparov, who beat him in four matches in 1985, 86, 87 and 1990. In each case Kasparov won only by a narrow margin, and once he only managed to pull ahead in the very last game.

In 1993, however, Karpov succeeded in making a comeback as world champion: Kasparov had broken away from the world chess federation, FIDE, and was thus excluded from the current world championship cycle. The final he had already begun was no longer recognized as an official world championship match, and FIDE decided that the two lower-ranked semi-finalists, Karpov and Jan Timman, should now compete in the final. Karpov won a clear victory, 12.5:8.5, and successfully defended his title in the period that followed, until he was ousted by Alexander Khalifman in 1999.

Karpov also achieved his greatest tournament success in this period: in 1994 he won the star-studded tournament in Linares, Spain, beating Kasparov and the Latvian Alexei Shirov by a substantial 2.5 point margin. To this day this is considered one of the most convincing tournament victories in the history of chess.

In his active period Anatoly Karpov won well over 100 tournaments, which is still a world record today. He was also awarded the Chess Oscar as the best player of the year a total of 9 times. In recent years Karpov has mainly played the role of ambassador for the “game of kings”, and has founded numerous chess school in Russia, the USA, South America and Europe. In Germany the "Karpow-Schachakademie Rhein-Neckar e.V." is named after Karpov, and in the 2011/12 season he played in the Schachbundesliga (German Federal Chess League) for the chess club SV1930 Hockenheim.

• 1

GM Anatoli Karpow

Russland
Российская Федерация

Russische Föderation

Anatoli Karpow Anatoli Jewgenjewitsch Karpow wurde am 23. Mai 1951 in Slatoust (Russland) geboren. Das Schachspiel erlernte er bereits im Alter von 4 Jahren von seinem Vater, der als sehr erfolgreicher und mehrfach für seine Innovationen ausgezeichneter Ingenieur arbeitete. Schon früh zeigte sich sein außergewöhnliches Talent; bereits im Alter von 9 Jahren gelang es ihm, in die 1. Kategorie aufzusteigen, eine Leistungsklasse, die nur sehr spielstarke Amateure erreichten. Als Karpow 10 Jahre alt war, kam er an die Schule des in der ehemaligen Sowjetunion renommierten Trainers Leonid Gratwol. Dieser leitete in Tscheljabinsk den Pionierpalast und war ein sehr starker Schachspieler. Viele seiner Schüler wurden später zu Großmeistern ernannt. Die Zusammenarbeit mit Gratwol dauerte etwas mehr als drei Jahre und trug schon bald Früchte, denn bereits im Alter von 11 Jahren erlangte Karpow den Titel des Meisteranwärters.

Dennoch wollten sich die ersten zählbaren Erfolge zunächst nicht einstellen. Zwar nahm Karpow in der Folge an sowjetischen Jugend- und Juniorenmeisterschaften teil, doch obwohl er sich stets achtbar schlug, gelang es ihm nicht, auf dem Treppchen zu landen. Der erste Durchbruch sollte sich erst 1966 einstellen, als Karpow seinen ersten Großmeister besiegte und gleichzeitig den Titel des "Meisters" erhielt. Eine Sensation, denn noch nie zuvor war dieser Titel an einen so jungen Spieler verliehen worden. Unmittelbar darauf gewann er in der Tschechoslowakei sein erstes internationales Turnier.

Den ersten großen Titel errang Karpow dann im Jahr 1967: Er wurde Sieger der Europäischen Juniorenmeisterschaft. Zwei Jahre schließlich folgte der erste ganz große Triumph: Er wurde in Stockholm Junioren-Weltmeister!
1970 wurde Karpow der Titel des Schach-Großmeisters verliehen; zum damaligen Zeitpunkt war der der jüngste Spieler, dem diese Ehre zuteil wurde. Bald darauf gewann er seine ersten Turniere als Erwachsener: So teilte er 1971 zusammen mit Leonid Stein den Sieg beim Aljechin-Gedenkturnier in Moskau und 1972 erzielte er bei der Schacholympiade in Skopje im sowjetischen Team mit 13 Punkten aus 15 Partien ein außergewöhnliches Ergebnis.

Bereits 1973 begann Karpows Aufstieg in Richtung Weltmeisterschaft, als er das Interzonenturnier von Leningrad zusammen mit Viktor Kortschnoi gewann und sich damit für die Kandidaten-Playoffs qualifizierte, mit denen der Herausforderer des amtierenden Weltmeisters Bobby Fischer ermittelt werden sollte. Karpow besiegte zunächst Lew Polugajewski und den ehemaligen Weltmeister Boris Spasski, ehe er in einem dramatischen Finale knapp mit 12,5:11,5 gegen Viktor Kortschnoi die Oberhand behielt.  Da Fischer jedoch nicht zum WM-Kampf gegen Karpow antrat, wurde Karpow automatisch zum neuen Weltmeister ernannt.

Kasparow gegen Karpow, Schach-Weltmeisterschaft 1985 In der Folgezeit spielte Karpow sehr viele Turniere, von denen der die meisten gewann, und verteidigte zweimal (1978 und 1981) jeweils gegen Viktor Kortschnoi seinen Weltmeistertitel. Erst 1985 musste Karpow die Krone an den jungen Garry Kasparow abtreten, der ihn in vier Wettkämpfen 1985, 86, 87 und 1990 jeweils nur sehr knapp und einmal sogar nur durch einen Erfolg in der allerletzten Partie besiegen konnte.

1993 gelang Karpow jedoch ein Comeback als Weltmeister: Kasparow hatte mit dem Weltschachbund FIDE gebrochen und wurde daher aus dem laufenden WM-Zyklus ausgeschlossen. Sein bereits angesetztes Finale wurde nicht länger als offizielles WM-Match anerkannt und die FIDE beschloss, dass die beiden unterlegenen Halbfinalisten, Karpow und Jan Timman, nunmehr das Finale bestreiten sollten: Karpow gewann mit 12,5:8,5 deutlich und verteidigte seinen Titel in der Folgezeit erfolgreich, ehe er 1999 von Alexander Khalifman verdrängt wurde.

Karpows größter Turniererfolg liegt ebenfalls in dieser Periode: 1994 gewann der das sehr stark besetzte Turnier im spanischen Linares überlegen mit 2,5 Punkten Vorsprung vor Kasparow und dem Letten Alexej Shirow, was bis heute als einer der überlegendsten Turniersiege der Schachgeschichte gezählt wird.

In seiner aktiven Zeit gewann Anatoli Karpow weit über 100 Turniere, was bis heute einen Weltrekord darstellt. Darüber hinaus wurde ihm insgesamt 9 Mal der Schach-Oskar als bester Spieler des Jahres verliehen. In den letzten Jahren trat Karpow in erster Linie als Botschafter des königlichen Spiels auf und gründete zahlreiche Schachschulen in Russland, den USA, Südamerika und Europa. In Deutschland ist Karpow Namensgeber der "Karpow-Schachakademie Rhein-Neckar e.V." und spielte in der Saison 2011/12 in der Deutschen Bundesliga für die Schachvereinigung 1930 Hockenheim.