• 1

GM Dr. Robert Hübner

Deutschland
Bundesrepublik Deutschland
Federal Republic of Germany

Dr. Robert HübnerDr Robert Hübner was born in Cologne on 6 November 1948. He learnt chess from his father at the age of 5, and joined a chess club for the first time four years later. He achieved his first successes in 1963, becoming German youth champion by an incredible margin of 4 points. In the World Junior Championships in 1965 and 1967 he finished fifth equal and fourth.

In 1969 he was made an International Master, and finished second equal in the zonal tournament in Athens, qualifying for the interzonal tournament in Palma, Majorca. Here, sensationally, he finished second equal to the clear winner and future world champion Bobby Fischer, thus qualifying for the candidates’ competition and becoming the youngest German grandmaster. In the quarter-final of the candidates’ tournament, however, Hübner lost to the former world champion Tigran Petrosjan. Because of the noise in the tournament hall, which disadvantaged him much more than his hearing-impaired opponent, Hübner abandoned the match after the 7th game.

His next attempt at the world championship cycle failed: in the interzonal tournament in Leningrad in 1973 he took fifth place, which was not enough to qualify. Three years later in the interzonal tournament in Biel, Hübner was in the lead for much of the tournament, but lost to Petrosjan again in the second-to-last round, finishing in 5th place.

In 1979, however, he succeeded in qualifying: Hübner won the interzonal tournament in Rio de Janeiro with Portisch and Petrosjan, then went on to the candidates’ tournament, where he first beat Hungarian player Adorjan, and then, in the semi-final, Lajos Portisch (also from Hungary). The win catapulted him to third place in the world rankings, behind world champion Karpov and his opponent in the candidates’ final, Viktor Korchnoi.

The final initially went well for Hübner, who was in the lead after 6 games with 2:1. But an unnecessary defeat in the 7th game brought the turning point: Hübner promptly lost game no. 8 as well, then surrendered the match.

In 1983 Hübner reached the candidates’ tournament for the third time. There he encountered the Russian former world champion Smyslov in the quarter-final, but tied 7:7, then lost when the outcome was decided by chance. 7 years later, at the interzonal tournament in Manila in 1990, 7th place was again sufficient to qualify for the candidates’ tournament. In the eighth-final, however, Hübner was defeated by Jan Timman, 2.5:4.5.

Hübner represented Germany at a total of 11 Chess Olympiads and won the silver medal with the German team in Istanbul in 2000. In the Olympiads in Skopje in 1972 and in Novi Sad in 1990 he won the gold medal on the first board, with 15 points from 18 games and 7 points from 10 games.

• 1

GM Dr. Robert Hübner

Deutschland
Bundesrepublik Deutschland

Dr. Robert HübnerDr. Robert Hübner wurde am 6. November 1948 in Köln geboren. Er erlernte das Schachspiel im Alter von 5 Jahren von seinem Vater und trat vier Jahre später erstmals in einen Schachverein ein. Seine ersten Erfolge feierte er 1963, als er mit einem unglaublichen Vorsprung von 4 Punkten Deutscher Jugendmeister wurde. Bei den Jugendweltmeisterschaften 1965 und 1967 landete er auf dem geteilten fünften bzw. dem vierten Rang.

1969 wurde er zum Internationalen Meister ernannt und qualifizierte sich mit einem geteilten zweiten Platz im Zonenturnier von Athen für das Interzonenturnier in Palma de Mallorca, wo er sensationell den geteilten 2. Platz hinter dem überlegenen Sieger und späteren Weltmeister Bobby Fischer belegte, sich damit für die Kandidatenwettkämpfe qualifizierte und jüngster deutscher Großmeister wurde. Im Viertelfinale des Kandidatenturniers unterlag Hübner jedoch dem Ex-Weltmeister Tigran Petrosjan. Wegen des großen Lärmes im Turniersaal, der seinen schwerhörigen Gegner weit weniger benachteiligte als ihn, brach Hübner den Wettkampf nach der 7. Partie ab.

Sein nächster Anlauf auf den WM-Zyklus scheiterte - beim Interzonenturnier in Leningrad 1973 belegte er Platz 5, was nicht für die Qualifikation ausreichte. Drei Jahre später im Interzonenturnier zu Biel lag Hübner lange Zeit in Front, verlor jedoch in der vorletzten Runde erneut gegen Petrosjan und fiel auf Platz 5 zurück.

1979 jedoch glückte die Qualifikation: Hübner gewann gemeinsam mit Portisch und Petrosjan das Interzonenturnier von Rio de Janeiro und schlug anschließend im Kandidatenturnier zunächst den Ungarn Adorjan und schließlich im Halbfinale Lajos Portisch (ebenfalls Ungarn). Der Sieg katapultierte ihn auf den dritten Platz in der Weltrangliste, hinter Weltmeister Karpow und seinem Gegner im Kanidatenfinale, Viktor Kortschnoi.

Das Finalmatch verlief zunächst günstig für Hübner, der nach 6 Partien mit 2:1 in Führung lag. Doch eine unnötige Niederlage in der 7. Partie brachte die Wende: Hübner verlor postwendend auch Partie Nr. 8 und gab den Wettkampf daraufhin auf.

1983 stieß Hübner zum dritten Mal ins Kandidatenturnier vor. Dort traf er im Viertelfinale auf den russischen Ex-Weltmeister Smyslow, unterlag diesem jedoch beim Stande von 7:7 durch Losentscheid. 7 Jahre später, beim Interzonenturnier von Manila 1990, reichte ein 7. Platz erneut für die Qualifikation zum Kandidatenturnier. Im Achtelfinale scheitere Hübner jedoch an Jan Timman mit 2,5:4,5.

Hübner vertrat Deutschland auf insgesamt 11 Schacholympiaden und gewann mit dem deutschen Team 2000 in Istanbul die Silbermedaille. Bei den Olympiaden 1972 in Skopje und 1990 in Novi Sad gewann er mit 15 Punkten aus 18 Partien bzw. 7 Punkten aus 10 Partien jeweils die Goldmedaille am ersten Brett.