• 1

GM Jan Timman

Niederlande
Koninkrijk der Nederlanden
Kingdom of the Netherlands

Jan Timman Jan Hendrikus Timman was born in Amsterdam on 14 December 1951. His gift for the “game of kings” was recognized early on; in the Netherlands he was soon seen as the most talented player since Max Euwe, world champion from 1935-37. He had his first major success in Jerusalem in 1967, winning the bronze medal at the U20 world championship at the age of 15. Four years later, just one year after Timman had decided to pursue a professional career, he became an International Master.

In 1974 Timman won the Dutch national championships for the first time; by 1996 he would win a further 8 championship titles. In the same year he was declared an International Chess Grandmaster. In world championships, Timman initially experienced a series of narrow defeats: in the interzonal tournament in Amsterdam in 1978 he was half a point off the third place needed to qualify. His attempt at the world championship title 4 years later took a similar turn: he finished fifth equal in the interzonal tournament in Moscow.

But in 1985 his time had come at last: Timman was a clear winner at the interzonal tournament in Taxco (Mexico), by a margin of 1.5 points, which meant that he qualified for the candidates’ tournament in Montpellier. Here Timman ranked fourth, gaining a place in the candidates’ semi-final, where he lost, however, to the Russian grandmaster Artur Yusupov. Four years later he made it to the top eight once more, where he beat first Lajos Portisch, then Jonathan Speelman in the semi-final. He could only be stopped in the final by Anatoly Karpov.

In the world championship in 1991 Timman reached the candidates’ final again, but then lost to Nigel Short from England. Short, however, along with reigning world champion Garry Kasparov, was disqualified by FIDE because of financial disagreements, and an official decision was made to have Timman compete in the world championship final against Anatoly Karpov, who defeated him 8.5:12.5. 1994 was the last occasion to date on which the Dutch player qualified for a candidates’ tournament; in Sanghi Nagar (India) he initially beat Joel Lautier (France) in the eighth-finals, but then lost to the Russian player Valery Salov in the quarter-finals.

Alongside his active chess career, Timman is the editor-in-chief of the well-known chess magazine "New in Chess", and is considered an excellent analyst and composer of chess problems.

• 1

GM Jan Timman

Niederlande
Koninkrijk der Nederlanden
Königreich der Niederlande

Jan Timman Jan Hendrikus Timman wurde am 14. Dezember 1951 in Amsterdam geboren. Seine Begabung für das königliche Spiel wurde sehr früh erkannt; in den Niederlanden galt er bald als das größte Talent seit Max Euwe, dem Weltmeister von 1935-37. Seinen ersten großen Erfolg errang er 1967 in Jerusalem, als er als 15-jähriger die Bronzemedaille bei der U20-Weltmeisterschaft errang. Vier Jahre später und nur ein Jahr nachdem sich Timman entschloss, eine Profilaufbahn einzuschlagen, wurde er Internationaler Meister.

1974 gewann Timman erstmals die Niederländische Landesmeisterschaft; bis 1996 folgten 8 weitere Meistertitel. Im selben Jahr wurde er zum Internationalen Schachgroßmeister ernannt. Bei Weltmeisterschaften scheiterte Timman zunächst immer nur knapp: 1978 fehlte ihm ein halber Punkt auf den zur Qualifikation nötigen dritten Rang beim Interzonenturnier von Amsterdam. Ähnlich verlief sein Anlauf auf den Weltmeistertitel 4 Jahre später: Beim Interzonenturnier von Moskau belegte er den geteilten 5. Platz.

Doch 1985 war es schließlich soweit: Timman gewann das Interzonenturnier von Taxco (Mexiko) überlegen mit 1,5 Punkten Vorsprung, was die Qualifikation für das Kandidatenturnier bedeutete, das in Montpellier stattfand. Timman belegte dort Rang 4, womit er ins Kandidaten-Halbfinale einzog, dort allerdings dem russischen Großmeister Artur Jussupow unterlag. Vier Jahre später kam er erneut unter die letzten Acht und schlug dort zunächst Lajos Portisch und im Halbfinale dann Jonathan Speelman. Erst im Finale konnte er von Anatoli Karpow gestoppt werden.

Bei der Weltmeisterschaft 1991 drang Timman erneut bis ins Kandidatenfinale vor, unterlag dort jedoch dem Engländer Nigel Short. Dieser wurde jedoch, ebenso wie der damalige Weltmeister Garri Kasparow, von der FIDE wegen finanzieller Differenzen disqualifiziert, so dass Timman am grünen Tisch ins WM-Finale gegen Anatoli Karpow vorrückte, diesem jedoch mit 8,5:12,5 unterlag. 1994 qualifizierte sich der Niederländer bislang letztmalig für ein Kandidatenturnier; in Sanghi Nagar (Indien) besiegte er im Achteifinale zunächst Joel Lautier (Frankreich), unterlag dann aber in der Runde der letzten Acht dem Russen Waleri Salow.

Neben seiner aktiven Schachlaufbahn ist Timman der Chefredakteur der renommierten Schach-Zeitschrift "New in Chess" und gilt als ausgezeichneter Analytiker und Komponist von Schachproblemen.