• 1

GM Nigel Short

Großbritannien
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Nigel ShortNigel David Short was born in Leigh (England) on 1 June 1965. He first appeared on the international chess stage at the age of 12, when he took part in the British championship for adults, and defeated the grandmaster Jonathan Penrose, who would later be the national champion. At the age of 15 he took second place, behind the future world champion Garry Kasparov, at the Junior World Championship in Dortmund. In 1984 he was awarded the title of International Chess Grandmaster.

In 1993, after wins against Anatoly Karpov and Jan Timman, among others, Short made it into the final of the world championship, where he was to compete against Garry Kasparov. But as both players refused to accept the conditions of the world chess federation, FIDE, for the title match, they were disqualified by FIDE. Short and Kasparov then founded their own chess association, the PCA (Professional Chess Association), under the aegis of which they fought their title match. In the end Kasparov had a convincing victory: 12.5:7.5. The PCA disbanded only two years later.

Short won the Commonwealth championships in 2004, 2006 and 2008, as well as winning the European championship in Liverpool in 2006. He represented his country in 13 Chess Olympiads, gaining 86 points from 140 games. At the Chess Olympiad in 1986 he earned 10 points from 13 games and was awarded the gold medal on his board.

Short has also won the British national championship 3 times, and is currently in 41st place on the world ranking list, with an Elo rating of 2707.

• 1

GM Nigel Short

Großbritannien
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Vereinigtes Königreich Großbritannien und Nordirland

Nigel ShortNigel David Short wurde am 1. Juni 1965 in Leigh (England) geboren. Er betrat die internationale Schachbühne bereits im Alter von 12 Jahren, als er an der Britischen Meisterschaft für Erwachsene teilnahm und dort mit Großmeister Jonathan Penrose den späteren Landesmeister besiegte. Im Alter von 15 Jahren belegte er hinter dem späteren Weltmeister Garri Kasparow den zweiten Platz bei der Junioren-WM in Dortmund. 1984 wurde ihm der Titel des Internationalen Schachgroßmeisters verliehen.

1993 drang Short nach Siegen u.a. über Anatoli Karpow und Jan Timman ins Finale der Weltmeisterschaft vor, wo er gegen Garri Kasparow antreten sollte. Doch da sich beide Spieler weigerten, die Bedingungen des Weltschachbundes FIDE für den Titelkampf zu akzeptieren, wurden sie von der FIDE disqualifiziert, woraufhin Short und Kasparow einen eigenen Schachverband, die PCA (Professional Chess Association) gründeten und ihren Titelkampf unter deren Ägide austrugen. Kasparow gewann am Ende deutlich mit 12,5:7,5. Die PCA löste sich nur zwei Jahre später wieder auf.

2004, 2006 und 2008 gewann Short die Meisterschaften des Commonwealth und siegte 2006 bei der Europameisterschaft in Liverpool. Er vertrat sein Land bei insgesamt 13 Schacholympiaden und erzielte dort 86 Punkte aus 140 Partien. Für sein Ergebnis bei der Schacholympiade 1986, wo er 10 Punkte aus 13 Partien errang, wurde ihm die Goldmedaille an seinem Brett verliehen.

Short ist zudem 3-facher britischer Landesmeister und steht derzeit mit einer ELO-Zahl von 2707 auf Rang 41 der Weltrangliste.