• 1

GM Stefan Kindermann

Österreich
Republik Österreich
Austrian Republic 

Stefan Kindermann Stefan Kindermann was born in Vienna on 28 December 1959. After his family moved to Munich in 1967, he joined a chess club for the first time at the age of 12. Kindermann had his first major tournament win in 1985, when he finished first equal at the Dortmund Chess Meeting. In the following year he won tournaments in Biel and Stary Smokovec, and was accorded the title of Grand Master by FIDE in 1988. In 1989 he won the renowned chess festival in Bad Wörishofen.

In 1995 he achieved his greatest success to date: winning the zonal tournament in Ptuj to qualify for the World Chess Championship in 1997. After a first-round victory over the American-Russian grandmaster Alex Yermolinsky, he was eliminated in round two after playing the Brazilian Gilberto Milos.
 
Kindermann played for the German national team in 6 Chess Olympiads, before changing over to the Austrian chess association, and representing it in the team Olympiad in 2008. He won the German team championship with Bayern München 9 times in total. At present his commitments include playing for Merkur Graz in the Austrian premier chess league.
 
Stefan Kindermann is well known as the author of high-quality chess books, and has written several works on different opening systems. Professionally, he is the joint director of the Münchener Schachakademie with grandmaster Gerald Hertneck.

• 1

GM Stefan Kindermann

Österreich
Republik Österreich

Stefan Kindermann Stefan Kindermann wurde am 28. Dezember 1959 in Wien geboren. Nachdem seine Familie 1967 nach München übersiedelte, trat er im Alter von 12 Jahren erstmals in einen Schachverein ein. Den ersten großen Turniersieg errang Kindermann 1985, als er den geteilten ersten Platz bei den Dortmunder Schachtagen belegte. Im Jahr darauf gewann er die Turniere von Biel und Stary Smokovec, woraufhin ihm die FIDE 1988 den Großmeistertitel verlieh. 1989 gewann er das renommierte Schachfestival von Bad Wörishofen.

1995 gelang ihm sein bisher größter Erfolg: Mit dem Sieg im Zonenturnier von Ptuj qualifizierte er sich für die Schachweltmeisterschaft 1997. Nach einem Erstrundensieg über den amerikanisch-russischen Großmeister Alex Yermolinsky schied er in Runde zwei gegen den Brasilianer Gilberto Milos aus.

Kindermann spielte bei insgesamt 6 Schach-Olympiaden für die Deutsche Nationalmannschaft, ehe er 2005 zum Österreichischen Verband wechselte und diesen 2008 auf der Mannschaftsolympiade vertrat. Mit Bayern München gewann er insgesamt 9 Mal die deutsche Mannschafts-Meisterschaft. Derzeit spielt er u.a. für Merkur Graz in der 1. österreichischen Liga.

Stefan Kindermann ist als Autor hochkarätiger Schachbücher bekannt und schrieb mehrere Werke über verschiedene Eröffnungssysteme. Beruflich leitet er zusammen mit Großmeister Gerald Hertneck die Münchener Schachakademie.