• 1

GM Vlastimil Hort

Tschechien
Česká republika
Czech Republic

Vlastimil HortTo give a comprehensive description of the Czech/German chess GM Vlastimil Hort, born in Kladno, Czech Republic, on 12 January 1944, it is not enough to enumerate his countless successes in Olympiads and world and national championships. You simply have to meet Vlastimil Hort, since he is one of those people who have a natural gift: the ability to talk for hours without boring his audience for so much as a second. His confidence, humour and charisma instantly cast their spell on everyone he meets, even people with no connection to chess.

To give an impression of Hort’s stature and experience, here are his most impressive successes to date:

  • in 1965 he earned the title of International Chess Grandmaster at the age of 21
  • in 1967 he took 6th place, an excellent result, in the interzonal tournament, the last stage before the elimination matches for the world championship
  • in 1977 he reached the quarter-final of the world championship, where he lost to the subsequent finalist, Boris Spassky, 7½:8½, in the most unfortunate way possible: in the decisive 15th game Hort was clearly winning but exceeded the time limit
  • Hort took part in a total of 14 Chess Olympiads (playing eleven times for Czechoslovakia and three times for Germany) and won two silver medals (as part of the Czechoslovakian team in 1982, and in the individual evaluation on the first board in 1972), and one bronze medal (in the individual evaluation on board 3 in 1962)
  • he won a total of 9 national championships: 6 in Czechoslovakia, and three in Germany after he moved there
  • in 1985 he established a world record in simultaneous chess, playing against 636 opponents at once
  • he played a number of high-level simultaneous blindfold matches, including one in 1979 in Munich, against 20 players, and one in 1981 in Merano, against 21 opponents

• 1

GM Vlastimil Hort

Tschechien
Česká republika
Tschechische Republik

Vlastimil Hort Um den tschechisch-deutschen Schachgroßmeister Vlastimil Hort umfassend zu beschreiben, genügt es bei weitem nicht, seine zahllosen Erfolge bei Olympiaden, Welt- und nationalen Meisterschaften aufzuzählen. Vlastimil Hort muss man einfach kennenlernen, denn er gehört zu den Menschen mit der natürlichen Begabung, stundenlang erzählen zu können, ohne sein Publikum auch nur eine einzige Sekunde zu langweilen. Seine souveräne und humorvolle Ausstrahlung schlägt augenblicklich jeden in seinen Bann, auch Menschen, die keinen Bezug zum Schachspiel haben.Um dennoch ein Bild der schachlichen Größe und Erfahrung des am 12. Januar 1944 in Kladno/Tschechien geborenen Horts zu zeichnen, seien einmal seine bisher eindrucksvollsten Erfolge aufgelistet:

  • 1965 errang er im Alter von nur 21 Jahren den Titel des internationalen Schachgroßmeisters
  • 1967 belegte er beim Interzonenturnier, der letzten Station vor den Ausscheidungskämpfen zur Weltmeisterschaft, einen hervorragenden 6. Platz
  • 1977 erreichte er bei der WM das Viertelfinale, wo er dem späteren Finalisten Boris Spasski nur denkbar unglücklich mit 7½:8½ unterlag: In der entscheidenden 15. Partie überschritt Hort in klar gewonnener Stellung die Zeit.
  • Hort nahm an insgesamt 14 Schacholympiaden teil (elfmal für die Tschechoslowakei, dreimal für Deutschland) und gewann dabei zwei Silber- (1982 mit der Tschechoslowakei in der Mannschafts- und 1972 am ersten Brett in der Einzelwertung) und eine Bronzemedaille (1962 am Brett 3 der Einzelwertung).
  • Er gewann insgesamt 9 nationale Meistertitel: 6 Mal triumphierte er in der Tschechoslowakei, dreimal nach seiner Übersiedlung die Deutsche Meisterschaft.
  • 1985 stellte er einen Weltrekord im Simultanschach auf, indem er gegen 636 Gegner gleichzeitig antrat
  • Er spielte viele hochkarätige Blindsimultanwettkämpfe, darunter 1979 gegen 20 Spieler in München und 1981 gegen 21 Kontrahenten in Meran.
  • Hort spricht nicht weniger als 7 Sprachen (Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Russisch, Serbokroatisch, Spanisch und natürlich Tschechisch)
  • Mit der SG Porz wurde er 4 Mal Deutscher Mannschaftsmeister und 4 Mal Pokalsieger