• 1

WGM Elisabeth Pähtz

Emanuel Lasker Gesellschaft
Emanuel Lasker Gesellschaft
Emanuel Lasker Society

Elisabeth PähtzElisabeth Pähtz was born in Erfurt on 8 January 1985. Her father Thomas, a chess grandmaster himself, was her first trainer, taking her to her first German women’s championship at the age of 5. She achieved her first successes in 1994, becoming German female champion in the U11 age group. Just one year later she won silver in both the European and world U10 championships.
In 1999 she won the German championship for women for the first time, before hitting the jackpot in 2002: at the World Youth Championship in Heraklio she won her first world championship title in the U18 age group by a margin of half a point. Two years later she was second in the U20 world championship, before winning this competition the following year.

In 2010 Pähtz took part in the women’s world championship for the first time, but lost in the second round to the Lithuanian player Viktorija Cmilyte.

She has held the title of Woman Grand Master (WGM) since 2001; since 2004 she has also been an International Master in the male rankings. Her current Elo rating of 2482 puts her in 22nd place in the women’s world rankings.

• 1

WGM Elisabeth Pähtz

Emanuel Lasker Gesellschaft
Emanuel Lasker Gesellschaft

Elisabeth PähtzElisabeth Pähtz wurde am 8. Januar 1985 in Erfurt geboren. Ihr Vater Thomas, der selbst Schachgroßmeister ist, war ihr erster Trainer und begleitete sie bereits im Alter von fünf Jahren zu ihrer ersten Deutschen Damenmeisterschaft. Die ersten Erfolge stellten sich 1994 ein, als sie in der Altersklasse U11 Deutsche Meisterin wurde. Nur ein Jahr später gelang ihr sowohl bei der Europa- als auch bei der Weltmeisterschaft der U10 der Sprung auf den Silberrang.
1999 gewann sie erstmals die Deutsche Meisterschaft der Frauen, ehe ihr 2002 der erste ganz große Wurf gelang: Bei der Jugendweltmeisterschaft in Heraklio gewann sie in der Altersklasse U18 mit einem halben Punkt Vorsprung ihren ersten WM-Titel. Zwei Jahre später wurde sie Zweite in der U20, ehe sie im Jahr darauf auch diese Weltmeisterschaft gewinnen konnte.

Im Jahr 2010 nahm Pähtz erstmals an der WM der Frauen teil, unterlag dort jedoch in der 2. Runde der Litauerin Viktorija Cmilyte.Den Titel einer Frauen-Großmeisterin (WGM) trägt sie seit 2001; seit 2004 ist sie darüber hinaus auch Internationaler Meister der Herren. Mit ihrer aktuellen ELO-Zahl von 2482 liegt sie in der Frauen-Weltrangliste auf Rang 22.